jump to navigation

While I was away… January 24, 2008

Posted by judylobo in Links, Photography, Politics.
Tags: , , , , , ,
trackback

lobopic.jpgWhile I was on vacation lots of stuff happened. I am dancing as fast as I can to catch up on the good, the bad, the sad and the ugly. As I peruse the oh too many photos I took on my trip I will share some of those thoughts with you but for now after only one day of speed reading the headlines this is what I missed in the past two weeks:

In no particular order –

– The non-profit group ‘The Center for Public Integrity‘ (now there’s a lost concept) did an exhaustive examination of the lies the Bushies told in order to lead us into this Iraq mess. All told, there were 935 lies perpetrated on we, the people and the rest of the world. Now you to, can search this database to find out who said what and when. High crimes and misdemeanors all, far as I am concerned and I am ready for an impeachment, how about you?

On at least 532 separate occasions (in speeches, briefings, interviews, testimony, and the like), Bush and these three key officials, along with Secretary of State Colin Powell, Deputy Defense Secretary Paul Wolfowitz, and White House press secretaries Ari Fleischer and Scott McClellan, stated unequivocally that Iraq had weapons of mass destruction (or was trying to produce or obtain them), links to Al Qaeda, or both. This concerted effort was the underpinning of the Bush administration’s case for war.

– The inevitable thud of Fred Thompson removing his hat from the ring. He is probably pissed that Sam Waterston got his job on Law & Order.

Bill Richardson’s withdrawal from the race leaves us without his smile, his style and his experience. He would make a fine VP candidate for the last nominee standing.

Rudy’s single state campaign strategy seems to be backfiring. His single digit standing in the previous primaries and caucus’ leaves him gasping for breath (and leaves me laughing). Will Judi stand by her man if he goes down in flames? Will his maniacal smile get any more like one of those clown paintings by John Wayne Gacy? Ron Paul, a long shot candidate with no real chance at winning the Republican presidential nomination, has won nearly twice as many total votes to date as Rudy Giuliani, a candidate still widely viewed as a strong contender. Stay tuned.

McCain surges but is broke. Huckabee is also broke. When in doubt, both head for the money tree known as NYC for some fresh donations to the coffers. Romney simply has to go to his piggy bank to add some fodder to his campaign.

– Anyone think McCain might ask Joe wacko Leiberman to be his Veep?

– 23 Republican seats are up for grabs in the Senate in November while only 12 Democratic seats are up for grabs. I wish more media attention was paid to this important issue.

Heath Ledger‘s death seems pointless and very sad as was the not surprising death on young Brad Renfro (The Client). His train wreck of a life was doomed for years. Can Britney see the train coming towards her as well?

– While I was away I DVR’d lots of shows and here was one clip that cracked me up from the Jon Stewart show.

– I am still supporting John Edwards and here is what he had to say last night on Keith Olbermann‘s show.

Comments»

1. bonnieluria - January 24, 2008

Time zone insomnia??? How else could you have put all this together after your trip?
Welcome back- you were much missed here.

2. John Edwards » Blog Archive » While I was away… - January 24, 2008

[…] Hillary Is 44 wrote an interesting post today on While I was awayâ¦Here’s a quick excerpt- I am still supporting John Edwards and here is what he had to say last night on Keith Olbermann’s show. […]

3. John Edwards » Blog Archive » While I was away… - January 24, 2008

[…] selflaugh wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerptWhile I was on vacation lots of stuff happened. I am dancing as fast as I can to catch up on the good, the bad, the sad and the ugly. As I peruse the oh too many photos I took on my trip I will share some of those thoughts with you but for now after only one day of speed reading the headlines this is what I missed in the past two weeks: In no particular order – – The non-profit group ‘The Center for Public Integrity‘ (now there’s a lost concept) did an exhaustive examination of the lies the Bushies told in order to lead us into this Iraq mess. All told, there were 935 lies perpetrated on we, the people and the rest of the world. Now you to, can search this database to find out who said what and when. High crimes and misdemeanors all, far as […] […]

4. Rudy Giuliani » While I was away… - January 24, 2008

[…] AmSpec Blog wrote an interesting post today on While I was awayâ¦Here’s a quick excerpt…the Republican presidential nomination, has won nearly twice as many total votes to date as Rudy Giuliani, a candidate still widely viewed as… […]

5. Ron Paul » While I was away… - January 24, 2008

[…] American and Proud wrote an interesting post today on While I was awayâ¦Here’s a quick excerptRon Paul, a long shot candidate with no real chance at winning the Republican presidential nomination, has won nearly twice as many total… […]


Leave a Reply

