jump to navigation

Jamba Juice is NOT an activity June 22, 2008

Posted by judylobo in Animal Stories, Animal Videos, Links, Photography, Videos, Zoos.
Tags: , , , , , ,
trackback

There are those that like to divide the world into ‘types’ of people. To me, that seems an oversimplification of complex motivations, backgrounds, experiences and preferences. However, when you travel with someone or a group, those ‘types’ seem more evident. The obvious early birds, versus the sleep-ins come to mind. When one has house guests, as I am lucky enough to have this summer it can be fodder for a blog posting. My annual visitor from St Croix is here this month. We are in total sync in all things (other than food). I am not an adventurous eater whereas she tries everything. This weekend we had other guests tool in from Boston to visit. So why is Jamba Juice not an activity? When planning the agenda for Saturday, my St Croix friend and I (who are both early risers) usually accomplish multiple tasks in the AM and are anxious to be ‘in the go’ position as early as possible. Our two Boston pals, however, sleep-in, and awaken as if from a winter hibernation. When discussing the Saturday agenda possibilities, the youngest of the gang said she would be having Jamba Juice in the AM. I pondered that utterance, and later, while trying to get to sleep, thought to myself – ‘Jamba Juice is NOT an activity. So there you have it. There are those that think going to a Museum or taking a long walk are itinerary items and there are those that think drinking a Jamba Juice is an activity. Luckily, this all became very amusing and it all worked out fine. Vive la diferences!

Cheeta, Tarzan’s primate companion is 76 years old. A group has been trying to get his name on the Hollywood ‘walk of fame’ for a long time. There is an on-line petition that says if Rin Tin Tin, Lassie, Kermit the Frog and Donald Duck can be honored, why not Cheeta. The 76-year-old chimp, who the Guinness World Records has called the oldest living, non-human primate, is retired and lives in Palm Springs. Cheeta also has a MySpace page, which lists painting “Ape-Stract Art” among his hobbies, and The Monkees his favorite band.

– Backlash against Keith Olbermann. Some women are very pissed at Keith. Emily’s List, the long time organization that has been instrumental in getting more women elected is calling for more impartial coverage. I agree. However, even though Keith Olbermann was a bit over the top, even for my taste, when it came to his coverage of Hillary’s late campaigning tactics, I continue to watch him. Why? because I need to know that there is a voice out there that covers issues in-depth, that the other TV Stations are not going to cover. I may not agree with everything he has to say, but censuring him will not be something that I will sign my name to. This week’s New Yorker had a long, very interesting article about Keith. Here is the link. The one thing that stopped me cold was the fact that he once dated Laura Ingraham. LAURA INGRAHAM? Oh Keith!

– Last week’ visit to San Diego was fun, fun, fun. So much to see – so little time. Our visit to the San Diego Zoo was terrific and I could not fit all of the fabulous faces into just one montage. So this week I feature two montage’s and two of my new videos. One and two.

– The hubbub about Obama’s decision to reject public financing is a big crock o’ crap. The Repugnants are just up in arms that he can raise more money than they can. I predict an Obama landslide. To be continued…

Here is 10 month old Black and white panda Zhen Zhen viewed at the San Diego Zoo. Also seen are parents Bai Yun and Gao Gao. Zhen is the third cub born to this couple.

Grizzly bear sisters, Kachina and Kiona frolic in the water at the San Francisco Zoo seen on June 8, 2008

– If you are a fan of boxing and of kitties, this one’s for you:

Comments»

1. Jude Shapiro - June 22, 2008

I am not sleeping over at your house.
Wake – sleep – juice – SCARY!

2. bonnieluria - June 22, 2008

WordPress thinks an appropriately related post would fall under the heading of Hornet Juice which is much scarier than Jamba Juice and I’m sure, a unique activity of its’ own.

The second mentioned group of sleeper in-ers are still sleeping, no doubt, and have not yet read this post.

3. nathaliewithanh - June 22, 2008

I completely agree with you. Jamba Juice is not an activity. Starbucks is.

As far as your Croatian friend’s food preferences, well what do you expect? In the islands, typical regimen generally includes goat water and pious nuns. They drink hibiscusade and papaya nog. Need I say more?

I like Olbie. I think he is getting more outrageous as a counterpart to Bill O’Reilly’s show. With a yearly $4,000,000 salary. It PAYS to be biased! I did not know about Laura Ingraham. Love is blind… But er, not so blind. He is currently dating a 24 year old named Katy Tur. 25 years younger than he is. Does this make you feel better about him?

Thank you for letting me visit and my respect to the Croatian.

4. jamba juice : scriptbest - June 24, 2008

[…] Jamba Juice is NOT an activitySo why is Jamba Juice not an activity? When planning the agenda for Saturday, my St Croix friend and I (who are both early risers) usually accomplish multiple tasks in the AM and are anxious to be in the go position as early as … […]

5. Awaken » Blog Archive » Jamba Juice is NOT an activity - July 3, 2008

[…] Jamba Juice is NOT an activity Our two Boston pals, however, sleep-in, and awaken as if from a winter hibernation. When discussing the Saturday agenda possibilities, the… […]

6. celebrating one year! « Is today a zoo day? - July 17, 2008

[…] behind St. Croix-nicity has perfected accommodating everyone’s pace and activity needs. Jamba Juice IS an activity. Pawdon me Tigers, Philadelphia Zoo. I like zoos, zoo babies are cute, and the Philadelphia Zoo […]


Leave a Reply

