jump to navigation

I voted for… November 4, 2008

Posted by judylobo in Photography, Politics, Zoos.
Tags:
trackback

line

myballotEvery election is exciting. This one seems even more special. A trip to the polling station is always filled with surprises. Today I went over to my polling spot, which is in one of NYC’s boutique High Schools on East 25th Street. I was the 88th person to sign in at 7:40 AM and there were about 10 people ahead of me in line. The polling place is in a tiny gymnasium that seemed to be deprived of oxygen and had the faint aroma of old socks. I scanned the crowd and saw a sleeping female police officer on a folding chair next to a very pregnant woman who was groaning. She then called someone (I am guessing her husband) and said to cancel dinner plans since she thinks her water was about to break. Oh oh! Guess who got to cut into line and cast her vote right away? The sleeping police officer never moved. I was out of there in 10 minutes and had a little extra bounce in my step.

Here’s a photo of my ballot before I opened the curtain. No surprises there, eh?  On my dog Benny’s morning walk. we went past my old polling place that is a mixed use facility. Some of you might remember it is usually a methadone clinic and you had to choose which direction you would be walking to when you voted. That line was very long (in both directions) as were the three other polling places we saw. No one seemed to be complaining.

–  I have heard from a number of you in places like Montclair, NJ, Scarsdale, NY, Glen Rock, NJ, Brooklyn, NY and a bunch of locales in Manhattan that your voting lines were longer than you remembered in a very long time. It’s going to be a very long day.

–  Guess who he voted for?

–  And our ‘Joe’ the Veep?

Comments»

1. carolking - November 4, 2008

Just got back from voting. Glad I had the day off today.

It took me approximately an hour and a half.

Luckily it was a nice day to stand outside and everyone on line was chatty and excited. I have lived in my apartment for 20 years and have NEVER seen those kind of crowds at my polling place ever before. The Board of Elections volunteers didn’t seem like they knew what they were doing, but everyone was helping each other and even some of the really frustrated voters who didn’t expect to be there for two hours were NOT getting off line. They were staying to vote.

It was nice to see so many people so into voting.

2. BungalowBILL - November 4, 2008

At 11 AM there was only 1 person ahead of me on line in my little town of Fair Lawn New Jersey, but over 500 voted before me. I walked into the booth, pushed all the buttons, and took a picture of all my green Democratic X’s for posterity. I left happy. I came home, looked at the picture and realized the flash bled out the green LED X’s on the voting screen so it all looked blank! I wonder if they will let me go back and do it again? It’s great to see people wanting to vote and waiting on lines to do, but I have to say, if it ends up they all voted for McCain I’ll puke.

3. maryschwalm - November 4, 2008

aha, i had to wait for an hour to vote because people like YOU were voting and then taking photographs to document!!! Actually, the voting was fast, it was the traffic getting there that was so ridiculous. Im having fun this evening with all the interactive maps, turns out, North Andover is WICKED conservative, but Massachusetts is on it’s game, keeping income tax, legalizing a small amount of pot, and while it’s “still too close to call” it looks like we’ll also be abolishing greyhound racing!


Leave a Reply

