jump to navigation

Blog on Blagojevich December 10, 2008

Posted by judylobo in Animal Videos, Links, Photo Archives, Photography, Politics, Videos, wildlife, Zoos.
Tags: , , , , ,
trackback

orangeflash1What the f**k? Chicago, Chicago – a heck of a town. Watching U.S. Attorney Patrick Fitzgerald explain the arrest of Illinois Gov. Rod Blagojevich was similar to watching an episode of Law & Order, The Sopranos or any other familiar TV show you know. How these brazen politicians think they can get away with this stuff in the day of wiretaps, videotape and 24 hour snooping I just do not know. Blagojevich was arrested on Tuesday on charges he brazenly conspired to sell or trade the U.S. Senate seat left vacant by President-elect Barack Obama to the highest bidder in what a federal prosecutor called a “corruption crime spree.” U.S. Attorney Patrick Fitzgerald told a news conference prosecutors make “no allegations” Obama was aware of any alleged scheming. Blagojevich also was charged with illegally threatening to withhold state assistance to Tribune Co., the owner of the Chicago Tribune, in the sale of Wrigley Field, according to a federal criminal complaint. In return for state assistance, Blagojevich allegedly wanted members of the paper’s editorial board who had been critical of him fired. “We were in the middle of a corruption crime spree and we wanted to stop it,” Fitzgerald said Tuesday, calling the corruption charges against Blagojevich “a truly new low.”

–  It’s time to play Name That Goon! Rod Blagojevich vs. Tony Soprano. I would like to take credit for this funny piece but Benjamin Sarlin wrote it ( I would like to think that I was clever enough to write it.).

Hands on buzzers: One’s a trash-talking thug trying to stay one step ahead of the law. The other was played by James Gandolfini. Can you identify the speaker of the ten quotes below?

1. “Unless I get something real good…shit, I’ll just send myself, you know what I’m saying.”

2. “What the fuck am I, a toxic person or something?”

3. “Log off, that “cookies” shit makes me nervous!”

4. “They’re not willing to give me anything except appreciation. Fuck them.”

5. “You got no fuckin’ idea what it’s like to be number one. Every decision you make affects every facet of every other fucking thing.”

6. “I’ve got this thing and it’s fucking golden, and I’m just not giving it up for fuckin’ nothing. I’m not gonna do it. And I can always use it. I can parachute me there.”

7. “That motherfucker’s full of shit. He’s shaking me down.”

8. “Our recommendation is fire all those fucking people, get ’em the fuck out of there…”

9. “I could have made a larger announcement but wanted to see how they perform by the end of the year. If they don’t perform, fuck ’em.”

10. “Jesus Christ! The money I’ve been dropping in here, I could’ve bought a fuckin’ Ferrari.”

Answers:
Tony Soprano: 2, 3, 5, 7, 10
Governor Blagojevich: 1, 4, 6, 8, 9

–  Here’s Rachel on the same subject – with a bit of humor thrown in the mix:

–  Rewriting history right before our eyes. I did not think it would be possible to hate Bush more than I did before the election but it turns out I can and do. His gall, disconnect and amazing ability to shun reality in the face shocks more with each passing day. Keith deals with all this in his own unique way because he has the platform and can say it for all of us:

–  It’s holiday time at the Central Park Zoo. For the next two weekends you can see our polar bears, red panda and snow monkeys get edible gifts for the holidays. I saw this fun activity last Saturday and got to see adorable little Zeppy, our snow monkey youngster, attack the little tree in order to get those delicious oranges, apples and Cheerios. Photos to Enjoy.

Comments»

1. coffee fiend - January 7, 2009

it’s interesting how Blagojevich seems so unaffected by all the chaos swirling around him; it’s as if he feels right at home…


Leave a Reply

