jump to navigation

Inching Closer to Change January 8, 2009

Posted by judylobo in Links, Photography, Politics, This 'n That, Videos.
Tags: , , , , , , ,
trackback

blogsunI was out standing on East 23rd Street facing east as the sun rose at 7:20 to catch the winter Manhattanhenge to take the photo above. Manhattanhenge (sometimes referred to as Manhattan Solstice) is a semi-annual occurrence in which the setting sun aligns with the east-west streets of Manhattan’s main street grid. I found out exactly when the sun would rise at this cool site.

–  As we inch ever closer to change in Washington, the nation, the world and perhaps the galaxy (okay – I overstated the change thing) I decided to make a few minor changes to my blog site. Drum roll please — I unveil a new masthead and subtitle. I decided ‘Fumes about our Current Administration, Art, Film and Politics’ was a bit of a stretch. I also did not want to enter this new administration thinking I would already be fuming (although I have my sites set on the very annoying Harry Reid). So check out the new header above and subtitle and you can now also see the most recent ten posts on the column on the right.

–  Was anyone else ‘creeped’ out by that five President meeting in the Oval Office yesterday? How uncomfortable was it all? Didn’t Jimmy Carter want to jump on the desk and scream at the top of his lungs about what has happened to our Democracy? Smudge pot needed after all of those previous creeps leave that office please. Bull Clinton spoke about the rug!

–  Barack Obama wants to hold onto his Blackberry. Good for the new President. He does not want to enter that bubble and lose his grasp about what we are thinking, saying and doing.  “Speaking with CNBC Wednesday, Obama explained that he is still fighting to hold onto the device despite the sea of lawyers who have warned him against keeping it. He said –  I’m still clinging to my BlackBerry. They’re going to pry it out of my hands… I don’t know that I’ll win, but I’m still–I’m still fighting it. And–but here’s the point I was making, I guess, is that it’s not just the flow of information. I mean, I can get somebody to print out clips for me, and I can read newspapers. What it has to do with is having mechanisms where you are interacting with people who are outside of the White House in a meaningful way. And I’ve got to look for every opportunity to do that–ways that aren’t scripted, ways that aren’t controlled, ways where, you know, people aren’t just complimenting you or standing up when you enter into a room, ways of staying grounded”.

– Check out Rachel Maddow on the Daily Show  last night.

–  Chris Matthews announced yesterday that he is NOT running for the Senate against Arlen Spector. Hardball lives. Who wouldn’t miss his sense of humor?

–  The Electoral College will meet today at 1 PM and formally count and announce that Barack Obama is the new President-elect. Whew! Maybe Minnesota can check in with that group too.

– In the ‘you most be shitting me’ file: In the bizarro world of politics it now seems that Joe the Plumber will be going to Israel to be a war reporter for the conservative website pjtv.com. No comment.

Comments»

1. Carol King - January 8, 2009

Love the new masthead. You embrace change. I fear it. Except of course for the changing of this administration to the next one. I can’t wait.

2. Bonnie Luria - January 8, 2009

Brava for the new fade out wolf motif and striking new banner.
You’re right in not wanting to keep the word fumes.
Maybe we can retire that one for a while.

Good start to a new year/administration.


Leave a Reply

