jump to navigation

Pre-Vacation Post April 27, 2009

Posted by judylobo in Animal Videos, Dogs and cats, Photography, Politics, Travel, Videos, Zoos.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

vacationblogMentally I am already on vacation even though physically I do not leave until very early tomorrow morning. The thrill of a vacation is knocked for a loop with getting ready to go on a vacation.  Is the dog sitter available?  Is the cat sitter available?  Should I pay my bills before I go away or wait until I come home?  Will the new plants I just planted this weekend on my patio survive for a whole week?  Why did I plant them so early?  Did I stop the newspaper from being delivered?  Can I eat the food in my refrigerator today?  Or do I have to throw it all out?  Should I leave the windows open? How much cash should I take?  What time should I call to have the car service pick me up?  Is the weather going to be good for the flight?  Will there be turbulence?  What about swine flu?  Will some rat bastard carrier be sitting next to me on the flight? Should I buy my lunch today or wait until I get to the Jet Blue terminal tomorrow?  Is it going to be cold?  Is it going to be hot? How many pairs of socks should I take?  How many gigs of memory cards? Did I pack my Xanax?

Getting through the day before a trip is the hardest thing to do.  Should I set an alarm clock?  I never need an alarm clock but I always set one before a trip.  I do not even know if the alarm clock works.  I am always up before it goes off.  Now I have to worry about that too. These are just a few of the things that are running through my brain at 7 in the morning.

–  This is going to be another big week in the world of politics.  The Obama Administration is crossing that ever so hyped 100 day mark and the TV Yakkers and the columnists are having a field day comparing him to every other President.  The week promises to bring every doctor, pseudo doctor and pandemic expert out in front of your TV screen to talk about the possibilities of your coming down with this new alarmist swine epidemic. There are a few things you can do to avoid getting sick in general (forgetting about this latest flu).  Wash your hands often, cover your mouth and nose when you cough or sneeze, run as fast as you can from sick people and avoid crowds.  If you have flu-like symptoms, stay home and call your doctor.

–  I am planning to tune out and enjoy my west coast adventure.  My zoo buddy and I have planned an almost impossible agenda but are determined to visit seven zoos and aquariums in seven days.  I am sure it is not everyone’s idea of a delightful relaxing vacation but we love it and those venues are some of the only places that allow me to forget about the rest of the world and enjoy those wonderful creatures.

–  There is lots going on at the Central Park Zoo. So much so – it was a two montage week.  The snow monkeys were chomping on some delicious magnolia petals, the lambs were just being darn cute and the polar bears were very frisky.  Check out some of the above and more here and here:

–  My local Park, Madison Square Park is ablaze with color.  My dog Benny and I take longer and slower walks enjoying the smells and the color.  See you all soon.

msqpkblog

Comments»

1. Pre-Vacation Post - April 27, 2009

[…] Original post by judylobo […]

2. Bonnie Luria - April 27, 2009

I could imagine Jackie Mason reading your opening list of worries. Maybe we need to call in Alfred E Newman instead.
Love the pink/grey montage.
Go and have fun.

3. carolking - April 27, 2009

Take your xanax now and you won’t have to worry about anything else.

Have a great time!

4. Jude - April 27, 2009

STOP WORRYING! BE HAPPY!

5. mary - April 27, 2009

Whew! Glad im just meeting you in Oakland, you sound more worked up than usual! We WILL accomplish our goal, and we’ll have a blast, with photos to prove it! Too bad we’re probably the only one who’d be jealous of our trip! I can’t wait to see the flying foxes.

6. mary - April 27, 2009

And, isn’t it actually EIGHT zoos in 7 days?


Leave a Reply

