jump to navigation

Movie Review: Away We Go June 14, 2009

Posted by judylobo in Movie Reviews, Movie Trailer.
Tags:
trackback
reviewblogpicMovie Review: Away We Go

Alternate Title: When Bad Films Happen to Good People

Story: I saw this film five days ago and the longer I wait to review it – the worse I feel about it. Essentially, the film is one of those ‘nothing happens’ and there is no ‘there, there’ jumbles. Directed by someone who should know better, Sam Mendes, it is simply a mess. The writing couple of Dave Eggers and Vendela Vida are responsible for this drivel.

Thirty somethings Burt and his girlfriend Verona, find themselves pregnant. They were relying on Burt’s parents to be their support system but Burt’s parents have other ideas. So what’s a couple to do? They go on a road trip to visit family and friends in locales as diverse as Tucson, Montreal, Madison, Phoenix and Miami to find – I guess to find themselves. Shock of shocks, their family and friends do not turn out to be role models and Burt and Verona get so darned down about the whole thing.

Yes, there are some funny bits and yes, they are likable. But after 30 minutes I wanted to slap them both upside the head. They are judgmental, self-absorbed, insufferable and glib. Oh, Burt and Verona, had you just clicked your heels and said ‘There’s no place like home’ we all could have saved two hours of our lives.

Acting: The entire cast is fine but is wasted in this film, including: John Krasinski, Maya Rudolph, Jeff Daniels, Maggie Gyllenhaal, Allison Janney, Chris Messina, Catherine O’Hara, Paul Schneider, Carmen Ejogo, Jim Gaffigan

Trivia: John Krasinski was born in Newton, MA and graduated from Brown University in 2001 as an honors playwright with a B.A. in English literature. Maya Rudolph is the daughter of the late singer Minnie Riperton, best known for her 1975 #1 pop hit “Lovin’ You.” At the end of the song, Riperton can be heard singing “Maya Maya, Maya Maya….” She graduated from the University of California at Santa Cruz with a BA in photography in 1994. She is expecting her second child with film maker Paul Thomas Anderson.

Predilection: None. My friend wanted to see the film so I met her. I still like my friend a lot.

Critters: None

Sex Spectrum: An attempt to be funny opening scene in the bedroom of Burt and Verona.

Soundtrack: I do not remember. I think I tuned out.

Opening Titles: I do not remember this either.

Visual Art: Sam Mendes demands that his film depict the surroundings of his characters well – and with this one exception, I applaud him.

Theater Audience: More crowded than it should have been.

Squirm Scale: I really did not like these people.

Drift Factor: Off the charts

Predictability Level: Over the top

Tissue Usage: I cried that I wasted time and money and the popcorn wasn’t even good.

Oscar Worthy: No

Big Screen or Rental: Neither. Better films by director Sam Mendes include: Road to Perdition, Revolutionary Road and American Beauty.

Length: Under two hours but seemed longer

LOBO HOWLS: 3

Comments»

1. Erica - June 14, 2009

I saw this movie on Friday with a few of my 30 something friends, and while we agreed it wasn’t the greatest film we’d ever seen, it definitely spoke to us. I think the target demographic are us folks in our 30’s who feel like we’re playing at adulthood, we’re waiting to have kids or are ambivalent about having kids, and we’re constantly questioning our career choices. So, maybe it’s a generational thing.

2. Erica - June 14, 2009

I saw this movie on Friday with a few of my 30 something friends, and while we agreed it wasn’t the greatest film we’d ever seen, it definitely spoke to us. I think the target demographic are us folks in our 30’s who feel like we’re playing at adulthood, we’re waiting to have kids or are ambivalent about having kids, and we’re constantly questioning our career choices. So, maybe it’s a generational thing. Oh, and I look like Maya Rudolph, so maybe I’m slightly biased. 🙂

3. Carol - June 14, 2009

Predilection: None. My friend wanted to see the film so I met her. I still like my friend a lot.

thank goodness! We wouldn’t want bad movie choices to ruin great friendships!

4. Lobo’s Howls & Growls – Best & Worst Films of 2009 « Lobo’s Rants - January 1, 2010

[…] (3 Howls) 6. The Men Who Stare at Goats (3 Howls) 5. Local Color (3 Howls) 4. Cheri (3 Howls) 3. Away We Go (3 Howls) 2. X-Men Origins: Wolverine (3 Howls) 1. Bruno (0 […]


Leave a Reply

