jump to navigation

Happy Benniversary! June 18, 2009

Posted by judylobo in Animal Stories, Animal Videos, Dogs and cats, Photography, Videos.
trackback

portraitbenYes, there is much going on in the world of politics both foreign and domestic but every once in awhile we need to celebrate something closer to home.  Today is four years since I adopted my dog, Benny. I know, I know – you are most likely saying to yourselves ‘only four years?’ Yes, it is true that I have taken and shared hundreds of photos of my little guy so it seems as if he has been around much longer – but it is only four years.

Those of you that have met him know that he is special. We think he is a combination chihuahua/pug and a few other things thrown into his DNA. He barks when the phone rings thinking it is someone at the door.  He has too many toys (my fault) and gets too many treats (mea culpa as well).  He knows most everyone on the block and his presence has allowed me to meet tons of other people in the ‘hood.  He loves to go shopping in Duane Reade, Staples and Barnes & Noble with me and has met many new friends in those stores too.

There is something about the little guy that makes people smile – and that’s a good thing.
Happy Benniversary, little guy!
BENNIVERSARYBLOG

Watch Benny enjoying the Wegman exhibit in Madison Square Park last summer.  Over 5,000 others have hummed along.

Comments»

1. Carol King - June 18, 2009

Awww, happy Benniversary to you. I remember when you first got Benny! And then I got Kaiya on June 21st!! And now both our lives have gone to the dogs. HAHAHAHAHA!

I love your portrait of Benny. It’s really beautiful. and it’s true, Benny has more toys that the Petco on Union Square!

He’s a lucky doggy!

2. Carole Klein - June 18, 2009

Judy,

Benny, the dog with the beautiful eyes, needs to come down here and run freely in the mountains. It would do wonders for his spirits and his waistline.

Recently, six very large deer ran in front of us as fast as they could go, followed by our 37 lb hound mix, Sasha, in fast pursuit who was getting the deer out of the garden! Sasha’s early months were in a nearby prison where she lived with Raymond Freeman, inmate, who
made her into a delightful being.

Let us know when you put Benny on the train. We will meet him at the station.

Carole

3. Gloria - June 18, 2009

I LOVE BENNY! He’s my favorite dog. I like him so much I let him give me doggie kisses. No other dog gets to lick my face. I have a picture of him on my bulletin board at work that i look at whenever humans get to be too much. If you bring a doggy treat when you visit Judy, you will laugh out load when she says “We’ll save this for later” and she places it in the drawer filled with doggie treats! Turns out I’m not the only one who loves Benny.
Happy Benniversary!
Gloria

4. Mikey - June 18, 2009

He’s got electric boots a mohair suit
You know I read it in a magazine-ohhh
Bennie is the best!!!

5. wendy - June 18, 2009

It may only be four human years, but think of all those dog years!

6. Anonymous - June 19, 2009

HAPPY Benniversary especially to you … you have set a great example for all of us. xoxo Helen and the LA contingent.

7. catloverbarb - June 19, 2009

As Benny’s godmother I have to say that his popularity has spilled out of his immediate neighborhood to mine. When he has not been here for a visit for a while the doormen and porters in my building ask where and how he is and they love the way he “Says Please” when they offer him a treat. He loves to go shopping with me and is a regular at my local Duane Reade and Staples.
Godmom Barbara


Leave a Reply

