jump to navigation

Chet, David and Walter July 19, 2009

Posted by judylobo in Photography, Politics, Videos.
trackback

newsbyeAs many mourn the passing of TV news legend Walter Leland Cronkite, Jr., I  confess that I was a Huntley-Brinkley gal. Chet Huntley and David Brinkley were the preferred bearers of bad news in our house.  Why? I cannot say for sure.  Maybe my parents liked them better? Who remembers?  I think we watched NBC’s John Cameron Swayze until the Huntley-Brinkley Report began on  October of 1956 and shut its doors in July of 1970.  Chet Huntley anchored in New York City and David Brinkley in Washington, D.C. Their closing lines “Good night, Chet, Good night, David. And good night, for NBC News” was echoed in my house often.

When Chet Huntley retired in 1970, the network renamed the program the NBC Nightly News. It just wasn’t the same anymore. Huntley died in 1974. Brinkley worked as co-anchor or commentator on Nightly News before leaving NBC for ABC in 1981. He died in 2003.

At some point I wandered over to CBS and to Walter Cronkite and became loyal to CBS once Dan Rather took over when Cronkite retired.  I have always liked Dan Rather. He has an edge to him that always surprised me and I was never quite sure what he was going to say.  Since he left CBS I am a wanderer.

The National TV news has become irrelevant to those who are news junkies like me.  By the time the ‘nightly’ news comes on – unless you have been in a cave all day, all to the news is old, fluffy and most times irrelevant.  Since network news corporations have closed most of their foreign bureaus, unless there is a revolution, hotel bombing, plane crash or an American has been hurt, the rest of the world might as well not exist.

What’s the future for TV news?  I say ‘good night and good luck.’

Here’s Walter saying  a final good night to Chet Huntley.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

