jump to navigation

Gather ye rosebuds while ye may… October 23, 2009

Posted by judylobo in Photography, This 'n That, Videos.
Tags:
trackback

babyjudyToday is my birthday. It is a very LARGE numbered birthday (in my hometown of Brooklyn we would say it was YOOGE).  I normally do not give a hoot about age but this one hit me like an asteroid.  Why is that?  Because I am now, by all of the accepted standards,  officially old.

After dwelling on this BIG number I have decided there are good things and bad things about being 65.  Here are a few of those things.

–  The Government thinks I am old and gave me a Medicare card. The good thing is that my health insurance dropped from a whopping $900 per month to about $400 a month. I do not know if the supplemental coverage that I had to buy includes an appointment with the death panel. I will keep you posted on that one.  The funniest thing about getting all of the literature from Medicare is that it is printed in a very LARGE font so instead of a brochure that would normally be 12 pages – it is actually about 24 pages.

–  The MTA also considers me old and now have one of those half fare cards.  This is good thing.  Instead of $2.25 per ride on the subway – it is now about $1.10.

–  Most actuarial tables for numbers of years left consider me on the very right side of the chart. That is bad.

–   The TV stations do not include me in that all important ‘buying’ age demographic. That is neither here nor there since I haven’t shopped much in the last 20 years.

–   I am lucky to have a number of younger friends. Some, due to their alternate lifestyles can go to the movies with me during the day. Some of my young pals actually ask my opinion on stuff. One young friend, in particular, goes  on whirlwind cross country Zoo trips with me (and I am referred to, by her, as her ‘senior’ friend).  There a bunch of very cool thirty-something friends who think it is not uncool to hang around with someone who is much older. These are all very good things.

–   The funny thing about aging, as all oldsters know, is that you seem to become more invisible with each passing year.  I sometimes think I have gained the knowledge of the Klingon Cloaking Device because unless I am walking Benny the dog, I am totally invisible. This is a good thing because you really do not need to worry about what you wear in the street since no one is looking at you.

I know, I know – they say the alternative to getting older is not desired.  Very true.

I share my birthday with my lovely niece, Becca and these other astrological cuspees: Ang Lee (director) , Weird Al Yankovic (comic), Dwight Yoakam (songwriter, singer) Michael Crichton (writer), Pele (Brazil’s soccer star), Charlie Foxx (singer), Diana Dors (actress) and  Johnny Carson (comedian).

So, I heartily accept all good wishes and hope that my Lobo ranting, raving and table pounding will keep the old noggin in great working order for some time to come.

Comments»

1. J'sFavFltFt - October 23, 2009

Happy, happy birthday! It’s only a # and nothing to worry about. You’ve most likely risen from bed before the crack of dawn as you usually do and began reading and planning all your political rants and raves for this wonderful day. You’re active, you always keep busy and there should be no worries other than the next movie to see or meal of the day.
Soon you’ll be traveling with a younger crowd again and we’ll all laugh when you get knocked over by another wave or when we’re having afternoon cocktails in the pool.
I, on the other hand, will be traveling with my 4 wives on this next trip with you. Yes, 1 apparently has been added since Belize and that’s what I have to look forward to. See you tonight and looking forward to the St Croix reunion. Happy Birthday!

2. J'sFavFltFt'swife#1 - October 23, 2009

Judalaaaaaaaaaaaaa,

Happy Birthday!!!!!

Whaddya worried about? C’mon! You have more energy than most people I know. So except for your little quirk about getting up before the sun, being in bed by 8 pm and going to the omelette showing of a movie, you’re a youngster with a mind like a steel trap!

Instead of worrying about how old you are, I would be more worried about how Matt is going to taunt you at the beach! Bobbers beware! And watch those bathing suit tops!!!!!

3. BungalowBILL - October 23, 2009

Happy birthday! Many many many many more!

4. Jennifer - October 23, 2009

Happy Birthday Judy. You’re young at heart – and wise beyond your years. I consider you one of my coolest, hippest friends and feel blessed to know you. I’d enjoy the fact that you’re getting these discounts. Think of all the extra fun things you’ll be able to do with the found change. Enjoy your day.

5. Gloria - October 23, 2009

Happy Birthday! You are a model to be emulated. I am forwarding this to my husband who is reaching the same milestone in the next few days. He’s calm; I’m a little freaked. But it gives me great hope for the future that when it’s my turn I will have a mind that functions well (maybe not so good with the multi-tasking but when a 65 year old mind focuses on an issue, the younger generation better watch out), knees that still work, a glorous sense of humor tinged by a well-earned dose of cynisism as well as a discounted metrocard. Enjoy this very special day.

6. erica - October 23, 2009

Happy Birthday! I would never guess you were 65! And, getting a discounted metro card -I’m totally jealous.

7. Scott Muskin - October 23, 2009

you sure don’t blog like a 65-year-old. Here’s to another year of speaking truth to power…old-lady-style. Ha!


Leave a Reply

