jump to navigation

On the road again… November 4, 2009

Posted by judylobo in Photography, Travel, Videos.
trackback

where toWhere are you going this time, Mom?  That’s what my dog Benny and cat Madison seem to be saying as they look at me with that ‘doesn’t this make you feel guilty’ look again.

Raise your hand if beach vacations are on the top of your list?  Hmm – I see lots and lots of hands.  I too, used to long for an empty beach, a good book and a drink with an umbrella in it.  So, what happened to that fun in the sun babe?  I am guessin’ the ravages of time and tide have altered my longing to be seen on a beach. Anyhow – I am off for a week – for a fine beach vacation with good friends.  Now where did I put that old lady bathing suit?
I am not taking my computer.  My goal is to not listen to much of the post-election poppycock and blathering.  I plan to unplug, de-rant, enjoy my good buddies and maybe even use their boogie board again. Gasp.

So I once again will suffer the indignities of being poked, sniffed and prodded at airports, gag at the awful smells and be forced to breathe the foul air on the plane and generally try to steer clear of anyone who is coughing, sneezing or wheezing. Alas, no matter how many times I leave for an airport the same nagging questions come to mind.

–  Is the dog sitter available?  –  Is the cat sitter available?  –  Should I pay my bills before I go away or wait until I come home? – Did I stop the newspaper from being delivered?  –  What book should I take?  What if I don’t like the one book I brought?  – Should I leave my windows open? –  How much cash should I take?  –  Did I forget my passport?  (you now need a passport to go to the Virgin Islands) –  What time should I call to have the car service pick me up?  –  Is the weather going to be good for the flight?  –  Will there be turbulence?  –  Will we make the connecting flight?  – What about swine flu?  –  Will some rat bastard diseased carrier be sitting next to me on the flight?  –  How many pairs of socks should I take?  – Underwear?  –  Will everything fit in my carry-on luggage? –  Do I need a winter coat for when I come home? – Did I pack my Xanax? –   Should I set an alarm clock?  I never need an alarm clock but I always set one before a trip.  I do not even know if the alarm clock works.  I am always up before it goes off.  Now I have to worry about that too. These are just a few of the things that are running through my brain. Mwah!

See you soon.

Comments»

1. Jude - November 4, 2009

Judy~
Don’t forget your sunscreen!!


Leave a Reply

