jump to navigation

Crime and Punishment November 17, 2009

Posted by judylobo in Animal Stories, Photography, Politics, wildlife, Zoos.
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,
trackback

I went to see House of the Dead at the Metropolitan Opera last night.  Yes, the opera.  I like to fill my life with a bit of highbrow culture to balance out the lowbrow stuff that fills my life. To clarify, an opera loving friend (yes, one of those Ring Nuts you hear about) chooses the operas for me each year.  She knows I only like operas that are dark, depressing where lots of people suffer and/or die. No fluffy stuff for me. The House of the Dead is based on the writings of Dostoyevsky, a guy who knew a lot about crime and punishment.

There is much ado about bringing the masterminds of the 9/11 attacks to the Big Apple to stand trial.  For a change, I scratch my heard at the fuss. Has our Constitution been so shredded that people do not think that the legal system can stand on its own and mete out justice according to our laws?

As soon as motor mouth Rudy Giuliani starts banging the drum I know it is time to see what’s going on.  Rudy still lives with a 2001 calendar. He is one annoying dude who refuses to move along.  He has made a fortune off his moments of 9/11 fame and sounds the drum of ‘Danger, Will Robinson, Danger’ whenever someone will listen.

I am going to watch this trial (which might take two years to get to court) closely.  I only hope that it is not my turn to serve on the Jury.  Or then again, maybe that would be a good thing.

He will not wake up and see that the country is trying to move along.  His disastrous run for Repugnant nominee in the last round should be proof enough.  But, alas, he just cannot help himself.  He forgets that in 2009 we have video of his double speak.

Watch Jon Stewart skewers Rudy here. “We’ve all heard that 9/11 mastermind Khalid Shaikh Mohammed will be tried in New York. Would you believe that Rudy Giuliani expressed conflicting opinions about trying terrorists on American soil before and after he learned he would never be president”?

Speaking of loudmouths – Stephen Colbert says ‘adios’ to Lou Dobbs: http://rawstory.com/rawreplay/?p=4294

If you missed my Sunday photo montage, check out the Central Park Zoo  snow monkeys. They were given a mirror as part of the Zoo’s ongoing enrichment program.  I happened to be at the habitat when they discovered this new addition to their home and watched their reactions.

Comments»

1. Carol King - November 17, 2009

House of the Dead????? Really???? I’m more of a Pirates of Penzance girl myself.

Was this a start on one day end on the next opera?


Leave a Reply

