jump to navigation

I wonder if the Pearly Gates are tinted Orange today November 20, 2009

Posted by judylobo in art, Politics.
Tags: , ,
trackback

Goodbye to Jeanne-Claude, artist, muse and partner of the artist Christo.  I was lucky enough to work at The Gates Project when they created their fabulous site-specific work of art in 2005. The artists installed 7,503 vinyl “gates” along 23 miles of pathways in Central Park. From each gate hung a panel of deep saffron-colored nylon fabric. The exhibit ran from February 12, 2005 through February 27, 2005.  Even though the exhibit officially ran for two weeks the installation and deinstallation of the project stretched out this work for almost two months.  I believe this community work of art, was the beginning of the recovery of our wounded City from the devastation of 9/11.

As a Gate Watcher, I held a long pole with a tennis ball on the end of it so that I could unfurl the saffron curtains if the wind wrapped them around their stanchions.  I had the good fortune of speaking to thousands upon thousands of visitors from all around the world about the project, about New York City, about life, art and politics for two weeks. It was an experience I will never forget.  Most of you on this list came to visit me at my post to share the experience.

The knitted orange Gates scarf you see in my photo was created by a friend – Jennifer – who was inspired by the work of Jean-Claude and Christo.

Every morning that we worked we would meet Jeanne-Claude and Christo at the Boat House for breakfast where they would talk to us, both individually and as a group. They also were generous enough to take the time to sign our souvenir posters, books or whatever – every Friday afternoon – with their signature orange crayons.  I have my signed posters proudly hanging in my living room.  Rest in peace, dear Jeanne -Claude.

Comments»

1. Bonnie Luria - November 20, 2009

I still recall how dramatic that orange was against a very bleak and grey, snow blanketed city.
Had I not read your post, I wouldn’t have known. Jean Claudes’ passing somehow wasn’t big enough for Google News this morning.

Their work was so grand.

As is that orange Gates scarf….

2. Linc - November 20, 2009

I saw this in the Daily News….and remember walking all over central park…because they measured gates to the size of the paths, so it was different everywhere…you’d think you’d seen some gates, but then you walked into some different geography and the whole thing changed….very cool.

3. Jennifer - November 20, 2009

Love those pics – that was such a great event. It made me love orange even more! You look marvelous. You looked so happy being a part of the big event.

4. urdead2me - November 21, 2009

RIP – Jeanne-Claude, 74, who shared a birthday w/ husband and partner, Christo. May she wrap heaven in shimmering fabrics.
http://urdead2me.wordpress.com/2009/11/18/rip-jeanne-claude/


Leave a Reply

