jump to navigation

Goodbye to the Aughties January 1, 2010

Posted by judylobo in Links, Photography, Politics, Videos, wildlife, Zoos.
Tags: , ,
trackback

Whew! The naughty aughties seemed like a very long decade to me.  I know, I know – some purists actually think the decade does not end until the beginning of 2011 but not me.  I am quite happy to say goodbye to the last 10 years. I really do not want to rush the passage of time, but it was a tough ten years.  My memory of the aughties begins with the nutty Y2K non-meltdown and quickly turns to the life altering hanging chad debacle.  The thugging in of the Bush-Cheney nightmare still hangs heavily on the entire world.  September 11, 2001 transformed everything.  Fast forward to the amazing election of an African-American as President of the United States and voila – here we are.

Am I optimistic?  Am I pessimistic?  I consider myself a realist (with a smidgeon of hope and cynicism thrown into the mix). I will keep fighting the good fight and will keep writing and ranting until there is nothing left to say, I give up or I find something else that occupies my time and thoughts. So, here’s wishing you all a very Happy New Year and new decade.

–  The hilarious JIb Jab has also done a fine job of wrapping it all up.

–  Others have better memory (and videotape) to recall the naughty aughties.  Remember Elian Gonzalez? The South Carolina primary? Hanging chads? The Daily Show does.  Watch The Daily Show’s Decade in Review.  The best part?  Seeing a very young Jon Stewart just 10 years ago. Sadly, you have to sit through a few seconds of ads before each clip by AT&T but it is worth it and lots of laughs.

–  The Decade’s Top 10 political lines from MSNBCs First Read.  Click on the link for details on each political line.
1. “I actually voted for the $87 billion before I voted against it.”
2. “The fundamentals of our economy are strong.”
3. Bush’s “Bring ’em on” and “Dead or alive” (tie).
4. “I can see Russia from my house.”
5. “Brownie, you’re doing a heck of a job.”
6. “Go F%&@ yourself.”
7. “So it’s not surprising then that they get bitter; they cling to guns or religion…”
8. Rumsfeld’s “known unknowns” and “Army you have” (tie).
9. “You lie!”
10. “Rudy Giuliani, there are only three things he mentions in a sentence — a noun, verb, and 9/11.”

Honorable mention: Obama’s “You’re likable enough, Hillary”… Bill Clinton’s “fairy tale”… Hillary Clinton’s answer on drivers’ licenses for illegal immigrants… Bush’s “Axis of evil”… Bush’s “Need some wood?”

–  From Talking Points Memo- The 2009 Golden Duke Awards Announced! Click on the link to see the answers.
-Any guesses who won the 2009 Golden Duke Award for Meritorious Achievement in The Crazy?
-Any guesses who won the 2009 Golden Duke Award for Best Public-Policy Based Fib?
-Any guesses who won the 2009 Golden Duke Award for Outstanding Achievement in Corruption-based Chutzpah?
-Any guesses who won the 2009 Golden Duke Award for Best Scandal — Sex and Generalized Carnality?
– And it’s down to the final award. Best Scandal — General Interest. Any guesses?

–  Here are MSNBC’s First Read’s Top 10 most overhyped stories of the Decade.
1. WMD/Iraq as an imminent threat.
2. Joe the Plumber.
3. Rudy Giuliani/Fred Thompson.
4. The public option.
5. Color-coded DHS terror-threat alerts.
6. The Obama-Clinton battle over mandates.
7. Those PUMAs  (standing for “Party Unity, My Ass”).
8. Bill Ayers.
9. Al Gore endorsing Howard Dean.
10. The West Virginia Primary.

It is the end of the year so here are my end of the year Zoo Photos.

Comments»

1. Oh dear, it’s a New Year « Lobo's Rants - January 1, 2011

[…] – Goodbye to the Aughties. […]


Leave a Reply

