jump to navigation

Oscar Review and Winners March 8, 2010

Posted by judylobo in Film Awards, Videos.
Tags:
trackback

In no particular order (since I am still sleeping) this is my take of the show that almost, yes, almost, ended the same day that it started

1. I am a big Steve Martin and Alec Baldwin fan. Seeing those two men in Snuggies cracked me up and a few lines made me laugh out loud. It would have been fine with me if they had presented all of the awards instead of the parade of mostly stiff actors handing out Oscar.

2. The fourth annual Barbara Streisand most earnest award goes to – Mo’Nique

3.  The only actor to mention God this year was Mo’Nique and I believe it was to bless us all (or something like that).  As an aside, why do the producers think that if a black actor wins an award or is presenting an Oscar the camera has to search for every other black actor in the audience to focus upon?

3. Newest anorexia victim – Zoe Saldana

4. Annual most stupid presentation bit once again goes to Ben Stiller.  He is apparently the ‘go to’ guy for getting dressed in a silly outfit and attempting to do some shtick.  A complete waste of time as far as I was concerned.

5. Most embarrassing and annoying presenter to watch – Cameron Diaz

6. Actress I missed least, once again,  this year – Sharon Stone

7. The tribute to John Hughes was appropriate so I guess they decided to cut out the Irving Thalberg award this year.  Or maybe I drifted during that part of the show.

8. Most annoying production aspect of the show was the orchestra playing ‘I am Woman, Hear me Roar’ when Kathryn Bigelow won for Best Director.

9.  I think dancing numbers at the Oscar performances are a complete waste of time.  I feel the same way about operas that have dancing in them too.  Lets just move along.  It is three hours later on the East Coast.

10.  What did Demi Moore and Jennifer Lopez do this year to garner a role as a presenter?

11.  Molly Ringwald is morphing into Carol Burnett. I had to rub my eyes when she first appeared because I was sure she was Carol Burnett.

12. I loved the montage to honor horror films.

13. The only award that I whooped for joy in my living room was when they announced that The Cove won for best documentary.  You should all see this powerful film.

14.  Last week I saw all of the nominated Short Film Animated and Short Film Live Action films.  It is of note that the two films that won, The New Tenants and Logorama were my two least favorites.

15. Once again, the winning Best Foreign Film has not been seen in theaters.  Like last year’s Departures (which when I finally saw it I applauded it’s earned award) Argentina’s El Secreto de Sus Ojos has not played in theaters. Boo hiss.

16.  Finally, when Hurt Locker opened last July, I ran to see it and have been singing it’s praise ever since.  Now that it has won so many accolades I think it is time for you to see it too.

It’s a wrap.  Onto 2010 movies.

–  30 Years of Oscar Highlights in 3 Minutes

Here are all of the winners for you:

Best Picture: “The Hurt Locker” Kathryn Bigelow, Mark Boal, Nicolas Chartier, Greg Shapiro
Best Director: “The Hurt Locker” Kathryn Bigelow
Best Actor: Jeff Bridges in “Crazy Heart”
Best Actress: Sandra Bullock in “The Blind Side”
Best Supporting Actor: Christoph Waltz in “Inglourious Basterds”
Best Supporting Actress: Mo’Nique in “Precious”
Best Original Screenplay: “The Hurt Locker” Written by Mark Boal
Best Adapted Screenplay: “Precious” Screenplay by Geoffrey Fletcher
Best Foreign Language: “The Secret in Their Eyes (El Secreto de Sus Ojos)” Argentina
Best Animated Film: “Up” Pete Docter
Best Documentary: “The Cove” Louie Psihoyos and Fisher Stevens
Best Cinematography: “Avatar” Mauro Fiore
Best Art Direction: Avatar” Rick Carter, Robert Stromberg, Kim Sinclair
Best Costumes: “The Young Victoria” Sandy Powell
Best Editing: “The Hurt Locker” Bob Murawski and Chris Innis
Best Score: “Up” Michael Giacchino
Best Song: “The Weary Kind”(Crazy Heart) Ryan Bingham and T Bone Burnett
Best Makeup: “Star Trek” Barney Burman, Mindy Hall and Joel Harlow
Best Visual Effects: “Avatar” Joe Letteri, Stephen Rosenbaum, Richard Baneham, Andrew R. Jones
Best Sound Editing: “The Hurt Locker” Paul N.J. Ottosson
Best Sound Mixing: “The Hurt Locker” Paul N.J. Ottosson and Ray Beckett
Best Animated Short: “Logorama” Nicolas Schmerkin
Best Live Action Short: “The New Tenants” Joachim Back and Tivi Magnusson
Best Documentary Short: “Music by Prudence” Roger Ross Williams and Elinor

Comments»

1. STEPHEN FRIEDMAN - March 8, 2010

MON./MORN IN MY OPINION THE WAS ON OF THE WORST OSCARS. I WAS LACK LUSTER,BALDWIN/MARTIN WERE FLAT,THEY SHOULD NEVER BE ASKED BACK,HAPPY WITH ALL THE WINNERS.
S. FRIEDMAN

2. Anonymous - March 8, 2010

I’m with you on almost everything Judy, and felt like the co-hosting with Alec Baldwin and Steve Martin was pitch perfect. I made more popcorn during the dance number, so you’re right — that could go. LOVED the Robert Downy Jr. and Tina Fey bit..

3. marci alboher - March 8, 2010

Oops..that anonymous was me, Judy..Not aiming for furtiveness here! (I almost called you Judila, then you would have known for sure who it was.) Glad I didn’t waste a stamp on getting my ballot to you. I got about 4 picks correct!

4. Amy Sancetta - March 8, 2010

your comment about about molly ringwald totally cracked me up. i was shooting her on the carpet and thinking “i know there’s an actress inside that person that i know, but i don’t know who!” what happened to my breakfast club girl?!

5. Marsha Dowshen - March 8, 2010

I agree with Stephen Friedman I thought Steve and Alex were boring or just had bad writers, and I’ve seen just a little too much of Alex Baldwin this year. Loved the dancing, about time they were center stage instead of behind someone. I’m a big fan of So You think You Can Dance. Doogie Hauser was TERRIBLE.
Bring back Billie Crystal.

6. Sharon S. - March 8, 2010

FYI, The Secret of Their Eyes will open up at the Angelika on April 16th and I guess it will go wider in the weeks to come. I can’t wait to see it!

7. Kathy Rose - March 8, 2010

The Oscars were three times as much fun checking my ballot which
I sent you. Everyone in the room was cheering me on – however,at
the end they all went to bed and , as usual, I was left cheering for
Kathryn Bigelow by myself. Didn’t even notice the corny music they
played for her award.

8. mikey - March 8, 2010

hit pause to tivo the show to put the boys to bed, when we got back to the show, we never had to watch another commercial and we were done at 9:05. love the left coast.

andrew’s first question when he woke this a.m. was “who won?” my answer, “up didn’t win” 😦 but they loved the presentation for best animated feature and both he and spencie were psyched that up won that category.


Leave a Reply

