jump to navigation

Review: The Girl Who Lost Her E-mail July 22, 2010

Posted by judylobo in Dogs and cats, Links, This 'n That, Videos.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

Review: The Girl Who Lost Her E-mail

Alternate Title: Road Runner Sucks

Story: After having a Time Warner Road Runner account for oh so many years they finally crossed the Lobo line.

Suddenly two days ago Road Runner stopped sending my mail.  I could receive mail and my computer indicated my mail was sent – but woe is me —it was nowhere to be found.  After hours of telephone misery with too many technical consultants it was decided nothing could be done.

A close relative has a ‘connection’ at Time Warner and an ace consultant was sent to Casa Lobo last night.  Everyone had such good intentions.

After 2.5 hours of mad clicking he accidently hit the REBUILD button on my mac.mail program and everything was LOST (like the TV show)… Gone with the Wind.  All of my in-box mail, all of my drafts with what I considered to be brilliant ideas and all of my sent mail were GONE.  They could not be found, retrieved or willed into being.

The very guilty consultant showed remorse but could do nothing and sulked away into the night.

The bad news is all of the above.  The good news is that my wonderful zoo buddy and faithful technical guru, Mary Schwalm , was able to transfer my gmail account into the aesthetically pleasing mac.mail program and while none of my stuff is retrievable I am now weaning my way off of Road Runner.

Acting: I acted as reasonable as any woman who was about to have her head explode.

Trivia: In the scheme of things, I guess losing all of one’s ‘stuff’ is pretty unimportant.

Predilection: None

Critters: One dog named Benny and one cat named Madison

Food: I had red wine, blueberries and chocolate sorbet after the consultant left

Blatant Product Placement: Apple Laptop Computer (good), Time Warner Cable’s Road Runner Program (bad)

Soundtrack: The sounds of police and fire alarms in the streets of Manhattan and the sounds of screams in my head.

Visual Art: Watching my e-mail vanish into a black hole was not aesthetically pleasing.

Weather: Hot and humid (even with the a/c on)

Squirm Scale: 10

Drift Factor: I paid attention throughout the nightmare.

Tissue Usage: 10

Length: Two hours and 30 minutes of misery.

LOBO HOWLS:  0

Comments»

1. Carol King - July 22, 2010

Wow, this whole situation sucks big time. I would make Time Warner Rat Bastard Cable give me a credit for the rest of the year!

2. BungalowBILL - July 22, 2010

Finally SOMETHING got you to blog again!

3. Nicole - July 22, 2010

Best. Lobo. Review. Ever.

4. Alan Cloke, Corlette Australia - July 22, 2010

Great review Judy,it cut me to the quick, “grin” but being the special person you are, you will get over it.

BTW, I have all your reviews since Nov last year if you want them.

Cheers
Alan

5. jimmyboi2 - July 22, 2010

I have had AOL grief often … so I feel your pain. And when I have trouble with the cable line, I demand– and get– $$$ credit. DO YOUR DUTY !!

6. JES - August 3, 2010

Let’s hope this works.

7. Oh dear, it’s a New Year « Lobo's Rants - January 1, 2011

[…] –  The very sad and tragic tale of the Girl Who Lost here E-mail. […]


Leave a Reply

