jump to navigation

Old Woman Yells at Cloud October 26, 2010

Posted by judylobo in art, Dogs and cats, Photography, Politics.
trackback

Yes, it is me.  I know, I know – the sounds of silence have been deafening from Casa Lobo.  My ranting has been redirected into more creative efforts but do not for one minute think that I am not screaming at the newspaper, TV, and the Internet.  My poor dog Benny is often startled by my outbursts of rage.

How angry am I at the Blue team for throwing away a once in a generation chance of their controlling both Houses of Congress AND the White House?  Oh – I am very angry.

I am more angry at the Bush thug policies that the Obama adminstration has chosen to hang on to thereby moving us closer to a police state than ever.  I am angry at the Obama administration for allowing their message to be out-shouted by every Tom, Dick and Tea partier.  The list is long.

I am also depressed, exasperated, incensed and frustrated.  Can the crazies that have choked the airwaves these many months actually win the offices they are running for?  I am frightened to say – Yes, they can!

Will a Republican controlled Congress be a good thing?  Is your memory that short that you have forgotten what they did a few years ago?  With Subpoena power Darrell Issa is going to be getting a lot of face time on your local screaming TV channel.

So what’s this liberal, pro-choice, feminist card carrying old woman supposed to do?  I will continue to fight the good fight.  I will go out in one week, on November 2nd and vote the straight Blue line and bite my nails that very long Tuesday night.

What are you going to do?  Whatever it is – it MUST include voting.  AND – make sure that your friends are voting too.

Comments»

1. jimmyboi2 - October 26, 2010

We voted early, at our local library in heavily Republican Seminole County– the road in was rife with electioneers, helmet-heads, and smiling evangelican men. I wanted to run them over, but I didn’t– because I’m decent and educated. I wanted to scream epithets at them, but I didn’t, because I’m rational and a gentleman. I wanted to rain pestilence upon their heads, but I didn’t because I’m intelligent and law-abiding. So I just went in and voted. That holds more power than anything !

2. Bonnie Luria - October 26, 2010

We may ALL be living on St.Croix…hard to believe the sequel to 2008 could get more bizarro…

3. Donald Diddams - October 26, 2010

It’s really amazing how easily people can be duped into voting and acting precisely against their own interests. And logic just doesn’t work with these folks. When they lose their jobs, their homes, their health insurance and more, who will they blame? The very people who, however feebly, are trying to help them. There is a reason the right does not support quality in public education for everyone. People might start to figure it out. It is hard to be optimistic about the future at times like these.

4. bumper sticker - October 26, 2010

This election has made me so nervous, I had to go out and do whatever I could! I’ve spent the last 3 Saturdays canvassing in the NY 19th District — Orange County. The Democratic Congressman (John Hall) is being challenged by a Tea Party Republican (Nan Hayworth). The Tea Partier was ahead in the polls, but it looks like things are turning around and the polls are showing it as a tie. Saturday I’ll be at the rally in DC, and Sun, Mon, and Tues it’s going to be Get Out the Vote work — in NYC on Sun and back in Orange County on Mon and Tues.

Who knows? Maybe I can help so that the Democrat retains his seat in the House, and the House keeps a Democratic Majority. Maybe it’s wishful thinking — but we each can make a difference. If you have time, help out with Get Out the Vote in a nearby district that is a close contest. Being able to hold a Democratic House will affect us all!

5. Carole Klein - October 26, 2010

We voted on October 20, 7 days after early voting began in Bakersville, NC. We were 206 &207 to have voted in a town of 325. This poor little county always votes against its interests. Nobody notices that any improvements in the town come from government funding. The Dems do a poor job of letting people know what they do, leaving it to Repugs to define them. And, the Repugs move deftly into the vacuum and lie often and loud enough to change minds. Where are the outspoken Democratic voices?

6. jimmyboi2 - October 26, 2010

We have been TOO plite,and TOO politically-correct. Look at what we’ve reaped: that Alaska person and her band of disinterested, anti-intellectual, know-nothing Neanderthals. Yes– WE reaped this by sitting back and being nice. And it all began back when those idiots invited the religious right into the halls of power: that B-actor Reagan and his dotty wife. When does it stop? These people are WINNING. When do WE start winning?

7. Janet Salzman - November 3, 2010

You are so right to rant….We have missed this incredible chance to change the country…The mandate was there…It was not our job to make Republicans feel good and included!!! Lets see how kind and generous they will be now that they have some power back!!!Lets see how they will try to work with Democrats….I now watch ESPN and reruns of the Waltons to keep my Blood Pressure in check..!

8. Oh dear, it’s a New Year « Lobo's Rants - January 1, 2011

[…] Old Woman Yells at Cloud […]


Leave a Reply

