jump to navigation

I voted and was #8 September 13, 2012

Posted by judylobo in Uncategorized.
Tags: ,
trackback

Yes, it is another election day.  I just got home after voting at 1:30PM and was #8 at my polling place.  That does not bode well for the turnout, does it?

I got a notification from the Board of Elections that my polling place had changed.  “Hmm”, I said – as I looked at the new address on the mailer.  It seemed to be the same place as before.  As I strolled to my old polling place, I noticed that indeed it was the same place – the thing that has changed was the name of the High School. Is this a form of voter suppression?  Not likely – just a Board of Elections mix up.

As I walked into the school gymnasium I was greeted by 9 people including two Police Officers.  They smiled as if it was Christmas morning. They got off their folding chairs and went into action.  Yes, I was the 8th person to vote and they were thrilled.  Glad to have made them happy.

So what was on the ballot?  Two names for Public Advocate (I voted for the name that the NY Times endorsed) and there were two columns of about 30 names each.  All were running for delegates and alternates.  I had to pick 11 delegates and 11 alternates. They were all Democrats. I voted for the women on the ballot.

I told them as I was leaving that the November election day  would be more crowded.  They said ‘Do you think so?”  I told them I would bet on it.

So go find your polling place and vote today.  It is good practice for November.

Don’t forget – if you don’t stand for something – you’ll fall for anything.

Comments»

1. Carole Klein - September 13, 2012

Doris Kearns Godwin writes that in 1850, with 23 million in the U.S. nearly 75% of the citizens voted. Politics was a consuming issue. People poured over the newspapers, read the speeches. Seems like the “information age” spews out stupidity.

2. Judith wolfe - September 13, 2012

Big, big sigh can be heard from the gang at Casa Lobo.

3. Steve Bass - September 13, 2012

I think we need better incentives for voting.

My best guess is that offering a microbrew beer — an Anchor Steam or Sierra Nevada — would pull in the male dems.Most important is not allowing Bud, Coors, of Miller, or any of their like variations, as that’d only appeal to the repugs.

I’m reluctant to speculate what’d bring in the women dems and leave that to, well, women dems.


Leave a comment